The Three Levels of Traditional Reiki and What Do They Mean

hands reiki energy

This is a collaborative post.

Reiki is a hands-on energy healing modality where a traditional Reiki practitioner transmits universal energy through their palms – to a patient, themselves, an object, animal, etc. One who seeks to become a fully equipped reiki practitioner must undertake a three-level training consisting of multiple attunements, modules, and continuous practice.

Reiki’s unique component is its attunements (which are known as Reiju in Japanese) – ceremonies held by the Reiki master in each level of the training to fully activate and open the energy centers of the student/practitioner. The attunement supports the student in receiving a grander amount of universal energy (aka life force/Qi) so that they are enabled to facilitate and transmit healing frequencies.

hands reiki energy

While you can find plenty of in-person and remote Reiki sessions nearby, one should be a bit more thorough and selective when seeking Reiki training.

Consider these when searching for Reiki training:

1) The master’s sincerity – do they uphold what they teach?

2) The length of the course – hint: it is not worth taking a weekend training.

Now, let’s get into the three primal Reiki levels in detail:

Reiki Level 1: Shoden (First Degree)

Level 1 focuses primarily on opening the practitioner’s channels via four attunements (traditionally) – allowing the universal energy to flow from the cosmic spheres, down through the crown chakra, to the heart chakra and the palms.

This level is for the student to focus on themselves first – their healing and process, before assisting another.

Reiki Level 2: Okuden (Second Degree)

Level 2 focuses on equipping the practitioner to practice on another, both in-person and remote. This level introduces the practitioner to five symbols that interconnect with the energies of power, distance, mastery, harmony, and completion.

This one attunement centers around the heart chakra’s opening.

Reiki Level 3: Shinpiden (Third Degree) and Reiki Master

Level 3 focuses on the final master’s attunement and symbol, providing a deeper connection to the Reiki energy. This level often is combined with the master’s degree, which offers more practice to the student seeking to teach and attune others down the road. But sometimes, you’ll find the master’s degree and third-degree broken into two sections.

The traditional Reiki levels are organized in a way to deepen the practitioner’s progress into mastership. You can choose to take each Reiki level separately or find a course that bundles all degrees together. And remember, each Reiki training is unique according to the teacher and their format, so make sure to find the right master for you first and foremost.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Update Required Flash plugin